The garage business was once the start of a successful business for many successful entrepreneurs. The garage served them as a platform for experiments and first experiments. We offer ideas for “garage” business.
A garage business is a great opportunity for an aspiring entrepreneur. Often it starts like this: I bought one machine, put it in the garage – and already started production. The starting capital that is needed to open such a business can vary from 20 to 300 thousand rubles: it all depends on your goals and scope. A simple scheme, minimal costs and a quick start are ideal for a budding entrepreneur.
According to statistics, 15% of the able-bodied population is involved in the “garage business” in Russia. The portrait of an entrepreneur from the garage is as follows: he is 35-45 years old, his place of residence is the region. Someone works illegally, and someone is registered as an individual entrepreneur or even an LLC. So in Russia, a small business in a garage is more of a common occurrence than an innovative idea. But every year new directions and equipment appear, which makes it possible to place 15-20 sq. m. full-fledged production or service. Today, the “garage” business is not only tire shops, but also craft production, and a printing house, etc. In this collection, we have collected 35 interesting ideas for you that can be implemented in a garage format.
Engraving and laser cutting
Machine cost: 20 – 300 thousand rubles
This garage business is popular among aspiring entrepreneurs. The essence of the idea is engraving images using a CNC machine or laser cutting. The cost of equipment can vary significantly depending on the features. For example, a laser machine can be bought for 20 thousand rubles, but it can only work with a soft surface and a small area. But for a multifunctional CNC machine, you will have to pay 300 – 400 thousand rubles. So the choice of equipment depends entirely on financial capabilities.
Now let’s figure out what you can do with these machines. Where you can engrave: leather, wood, cardboard, paper, metal, etc. For example, leather burning can be used to produce wallets, leather notebooks or phone cases. Also, using laser CNC, you can produce products from plywood, wood, chipboard, etc. An example is wooden inscriptions – these usually appear on wedding photo shoots or in interior decor. But the matter is not limited to the production of wooden letters. With the help of laser cutting, it is possible to produce “openwork” boxes, tablets, lampshades for night lamps, collapsible structures of models of ships and aircraft, and so on.
Mini forge in the garage
The cost of the machine: 300 thousand rubles (simpler analogues from 150 thousand rubles)
If you’re thinking about turning your garage into a mini forge, then you can’t do without a hydraulic forging press. These machines can be used for decorative sponge, as well as for cold and hot forging, since a small gas furnace is provided in the kit. More than 40 complex forged elements can be produced on such a machine.
A few important nuances to consider when opening a forge in a garage:
- It is recommended to place the mini-forge room no closer than 10 meters from residential buildings. Consider the fire hazard of production.
- Eliminate flammable materials from garage trim. For example, the floor in the garage must be made of fire-resistant material – concrete or lined with bricks or tiles. The garage should have exhaust ventilation, good lighting and hidden wiring;
- To engage in such a business in a garage, you need to have certain experience and work skills. Therefore, if you are new to this craft, you first need to undergo training – both safety and business require the success of which depends on the quality of your products.
Packaging of herbal tea
Machine cost: 150 thousand rubles
It is quite possible to place a mini-workshop for the production and packaging of herbal tea in the garage. In the future, you can sell goods on the market. Herbal tea is a healthy product that is in high demand due to the fashion for a healthy lifestyle.
The production of natural herbal tea can become not only a profitable business, but also a hobby that will not allow turning this type of business into a routine. One of the difficulties of this business is to find a supplier of phyto-collection that you will pack. You should find a supplier with quality raw materials and quality certificates for products.
Machine cost: 50-250 thousand rubles
Chain-link mesh is a sought-after product in the building materials market. This is due to its practicality and low price. The demand for chain-link mesh increases in the summer, when it is used for fencing, foundations under the blood of sheds, etc.
The area of the garage is enough to deploy the production of chain-link mesh there. The machine is quite compact and can be placed a few meters away. Machines are manual, semi-automatic and automatic. The most expensive, of course, automatic – their approximate cost is 250 thousand rubles. For comparison: the Rabitsa station from the Promstroy company costs about 50 thousand rubles. Automatic machine ASU-174 will cost 200 thousand rubles. It is up to you to decide how much to allocate for the purchase of equipment. If you are planning wholesale sales of chain-link mesh, then it is better to buy an automatic machine right away. With a wholesale price of 100 rubles per square meter, the initial investment will pay off pretty quickly.
Machine cost: 50 thousand rubles
Turning workshop is a popular type of garage business. In your workshop, you can make various wooden and metal parts. For example, souvenirs, wooden utensils, fishing equipment, etc. Whom to sell products to? Turned products are in demand among various audiences: both individuals and private entrepreneurs (construction teams, carpentry workshops, etc.).
Equipment cost: 100 thousand rubles
From the garage, you can easily make a smokehouse for meat and fish products. It is enough to buy a special electric (or standard) smokehouse. In terms of size and shape, it resembles a closet, so it will take up little space.
You can sell smoked products on the market or rent them to wholesalers. The difficulty lies in the fact that in order to conduct such a business, it is necessary to obtain all permits for activities, organize the purchase of fresh semi-finished products from suppliers. Another problem is that businesses are vulnerable to inspections. Experts generally do not recommend opening food production in garage conditions. Since it is not so easy to follow all sanitary standards in such a room. And the requirements for the room are as follows: the presence of an exhaust hood and a power source for the operation of the compressor.
A garage business is not always a “harsh” production. One of the simple and creative ideas is to start making photobooks. To realize your plans, you need a quality printer and good paper. Binding can be done by hand or ordered from a printing house.
The cost of a photobook will depend on the number of pages. For example, the production of an album of 10 pages will cost you about 500 rubles, including the binding. But they sell such photobooks at a price of 1500 or even 2000 rubles. Thus, from one photobook you get more than 1000 rubles of net profit.
You can secure a flow of customers if you create a store page or website on the Internet. Now everyone prints photo books: models and designers who need a portfolio, as well as individuals who want to arrange family photos in an album.
Machine cost: 120 thousand rubles
Recently, ceramic products have become especially popular. Therefore, opening your own pottery is a good idea. It is worth starting with the manufacture of stucco ceramics, and after the appearance of the first customers, buy a potter’s wheel and molds for blanks. The modern potter’s wheel is a powerful piece of equipment designed for craftsmen of varying degrees of experience. Before you seriously get into this business, make sure that you have enough experience to produce goods for sale. Although you can hire a master who will be engaged in production, and solve all related issues yourself. With the successful development of the business, production can be expanded and master classes for children can be held.
Production of wooden toys
The cost of machines: 150 thousand rubles
Wooden toys are on the rise. Eco-friendly, aesthetic handmade product – something that corresponds to modern fashion trends. For the production of wooden toys, you will need to purchase machines such as: milling, drilling, grinding, facing, as well as various auxiliary tools.
You can sell products via the Internet using various resources: social networks, the Fair of Masters, Etsy.com, Avito, etc. Wooden toys are not cheap, but they are great buys. The thing is that parents are willing to pay more for a toy if it meets their requirements: environmentally friendly, safe, beautiful, durable. Handmade toys are a great idea for a business that can bring up to 50 thousand rubles of net profit per month (and this is not the limit). Ideas for unusual wooden toys can be peeped here .
Forming machine vacuum
The cost of the machine: from 70 thousand rubles
By installing a vacuum forming machine in your garage, you can produce various products from thermoplastic sheet materials. These are culinary molds, auto parts, mannequins, molds for casting paving slabs, pill blisters, various signs, etc.
Machine cost: 160 thousand rubles
Styrofoam processing is a profitable direction in the “garage” business. Styrofoam creates various decorative elements. Styrofoam is a cheap, picky, plastic material. Styrofoam decorative products are in demand among decorators. To start production, you will need to buy a special machine, the cost of which is 160 thousand rubles. And then it all depends on your skill and imagination. On average, the profit from one product is 400 rubles. With proper promotion, you can quickly find a client base and start making money on foam.
Key making workshop
Machine cost: 100 thousand rubles
The garage will make an excellent workshop for making keys. This will be especially true if the garage is located in a place with high traffic. For high-quality service, special equipment is required. Different types of keys are made on different machines. You can buy a combined and automated machine that is suitable for working with many types of keys. However, the cost of such equipment is much higher, so it is more rational to purchase three machines of a narrow focus.
When choosing machines, pay attention to the country of origin. The cheapest are Chinese, the highest quality are German. The first ones quickly fail, the second ones quickly “eat up” the starting capital. The most suitable option for a novice entrepreneur is domestic equipment.
In addition, locksmith tools will come in handy in your work: files, screwdrivers, vise, sharpening wheels, etc. These tools will take 10-15 thousand rubles. In total, about 130 thousand rubles will be required to open a workshop for making keys.
The profit margin of the workshop depends on the number of customers. The cost of making a key is small: 150-300 rubles. To make good money, you have to complete a lot of orders per day. For example, if a master takes 10-15 orders per day, then his monthly income will be about 30 thousand rubles. You can read more about opening a key making workshop here .
Production of window blinds
Machine cost: 100 thousand rubles
In many shops and in the market you can find cheap Chinese window blinds. Recently, such products have become popular, and the demand for blinds has grown. You can produce blinds in the garage using manual or semi-automatic equipment. To increase profits, you can not only produce blinds, but also install them, which does not require special equipment. This type of business can bring a good income, if properly organized. With well-established distribution channels, you will recoup the investment in a few months.
Aquaprint of car interiors
Immersion printing or aquaprinting is a popular service for decorating car interiors, decorating motorcycles and gadgets. To start in the garage business, 208 thousand rubles, a garage and minimal skills are enough. Room requirements are also minimal – you will need bright lighting and good ventilation, as you will have to work with caustic liquids. 200 thousand rubles will be enough to buy new equipment for immersion printing. A detailed guide to starting an aquaprint business can be found here .
A very simple garage business can be organized by raising chickens and selling domestic eggs. If you have more than 200 chickens in cages and sell eggs for 90-100 rubles. for a dozen, you can earn about 60 thousand rubles a month. Taking into account the costs of lighting, heating and food, the net profit will be about 40-45 thousand rubles. Additional income can be obtained by selling chickens and hens.
In the garage, you can organize a business selling antiques: household items, coins and stamps, old books, records, paintings and much more. You can make money in this business in completely different ways, since one sale can bring 99% of all profits.
The growth of cottage construction increases the demand for decorative design of premises. Under such conditions, stained glass manufacturing business can become profitable, the profitability of which is estimated at 30-35%. Investments and payback will depend on the chosen technology: classic, sandblasted, film, fusing, tiffany or painted.
The carpet cleaning business is one of those activities that require minimal investment. Its essence is simple – you organize cleaning of carpets for clients on-site or provide services for the removal / delivery of carpets to a converted large garage or your own workshop, where you carry out the cleaning. With the first option, you can get by with a minimum amount of equipment, household chemicals and small cleaning appliances (you can even meet 100 thousand rubles). With 4-5 orders per day, net profit can reach 90-120 thousand rubles. The second option is more suitable for serious business, as you can significantly increase the number of orders and productivity.
Trade in vegetables and fruits
If the garage is located near multi-storey residential buildings or passable places, you can organize a trade in vegetables or fruits. The main thing in this business is the advantageous difference between the purchase and the final price. The daily revenue of such points is about 3000-6000 rubles. Profit at a 30% margin is about 1000-2000 rubles, that is, 30-60 thousand rubles per month.
Production of luminous paving slabs
The production of paving slabs does not require large financial investments and is a very profitable line of business. The only problem is that the market is already close to saturation. In every city there is a production of paving slabs, but not everywhere there is a production of luminous paving slabs and finishing materials. Modern buyers are increasingly striving to decorate their homes and suburban areas, so this type of business has broad prospects. Surprisingly, you can start in this area with a minimum capital of 60 thousand rubles and on a minimum area of 20 square meters. meters.
Production of business boards
Busyboards are such entertaining and educational toys for children from 1 to 5 years old, which are boards, stands or modules on which various objects are fixed with which the child can interact (twist, knock, open, tie / untie, turn on / off etc). This thing today is very popular with all kinds of children’s centers and clubs. The cost of bodyboards is quite low (you can make bodyboards yourself from improvised materials), so you can set a high markup of 300% or more on the finished product. See business plan for the production of business boards
You can start a furniture restoration business , if not from scratch, then with several thousand rubles needed to purchase tools and materials, such as varnish and primer. Typically, these services include the repair of cabinet furniture, reupholstering of upholstered furniture and the replacement of old fittings. Since furniture manufacturers rarely provide such services, the level of demand for furniture restoration is quite high. As with many home services, word of mouth plays the biggest role in business success.
Reception of secondary raw materials
On the basis of your own garage, you can organize a collection point for secondary raw materials for their subsequent sorting and sale to processing enterprises. Recycled materials can be glass or metal, cardboard or paper, textiles or rubber, polymer films. The main question is to whom exactly you will transfer the material for processing. What kind of waste can be collected and donated for money can be found here .
Printing on balloons and bags
Machine cost: 30 thousand rubles
This is one of the easiest options because it’s cheap and easy to organize. The essence of the business idea is to transfer the image onto balloons or a similar surface (for example, plastic bags and packaging) using a special machine. There are two ways to implement the idea: using a half-station or an automated line. It is clear that the second option simplifies the work process, but significantly increases costs.
Technology of semi-automatic machine:
- The worker inserts a ready-made, inflated ball into the grooves;
- a stencil is lowered onto the ball;
- the worker paints along the inside of the stencil;
- the drawing is transferred to the ball. The product is ready.
The automatic machine works with empty balls, which are loaded into the production belt. First, the balloons are filled with air, then a programmed image is applied and the balloon is twisted to avoid deflation. Approximately the same scheme applies to applying images to packages. Products can be sold to corporate clients: from advertising agencies to shopping centers. The business is quite simple, but at the same time it will be in demand, especially at a time when advertising and the entertainment industry are developing.
Sneaker dry cleaning
Sneaker dry cleaning is a trendy topic among teenagers and young people under 30 today. Sneaker dry cleaners are specialized dry cleaners for the professional cleaning and care of sneakers. Customers wear expensive sneakers on a daily basis and at the same time would like to keep their shoes presentable for as long as possible. Given the target audience’s love for everything non-standard, you can use an ordinary garage to create such a business, equipping it with everything you need and creating an attractive interior. You can read more about opening a sneaker dry cleaner here .
The garage can be used as a bike rental, investing only in the purchase of bicycles and bringing only cosmetic repairs inside. The entrepreneur’s income will consist of paying hourly or daily rent. It is advisable to open rental points in park and recreational areas of large cities, or near pedestrian streets. The downside of this business is seasonality. Read the bike rental business plan
Machine cost: 50 thousand rubles
In the garage, you can equip a full-fledged glass cutting workshop. This business will be in demand in large cities, where there is a high demand for glass replacement in industrial and residential buildings. To start, you will need about 50 thousand rubles – this is enough to purchase glass cutters, a work table and the first batch of glass.
The workshop room should have a ventilation system and heating if you plan to cut glass all year round. It is also necessary to obtain permits from the fire inspectorate. Sliced glass is sold at a price of 500 rubles per square meter. m.
A simple and interesting basket weaving activity that can be found in one of the hundreds of videos on the Internet can be a good source of income. It is not so difficult to get birch bark or willow twigs, and only a carpenter’s knife, a metal spatula and a rope are needed for work. The garage can be used both as a workspace and as a warehouse for finished products and blanks.
Airbrushing is not only a fashionable direction in car restyling, which can bring excellent profits to a budding entrepreneur, but also a business for which you don’t have to leave your own garage. 150 thousand rubles will be enough for everything you need. Your own small airbrush studio can bring in more than 70 thousand rubles per month.
Investments in the creation of garden furniture can be practically zero when it comes to, for example, the production of benches, tables and chairs from stumps, trunks and branches of unusual shapes. Moisture-resistant varnishes and impregnations, which are necessary for the outdoor use of furniture, will become a consumable item. With independent work and small volumes, an ordinary garage is enough. Read more about how to organize the production of garden furniture read here .
Shoe and clothing repair
If the garage is close to pedestrian areas, a small shoe and clothing repair business can be set up, specializing in heels, sole repairs, lock changes, and so on. The cost of equipment and tools (sewing machine, drill, machine for blanks, knives, hooks, shoe hammer, screwdrivers, etc.) will amount to 80 thousand rubles.
This business option is to open a specialized car painting service , including pre-cleaning, priming, grinding, selecting and applying paint, varnish and polishing the painted surface. To open a full-fledged service with all the necessary equipment, an amount of about 2 million rubles will be required. He will be able to bring more than 150 thousand rubles. per month.
Installation of car alarms
According to the police, the detection rate for car thefts in Russia is about 30%. Therefore, owners who do not want to install an alarm on their car are the vast minority. To open an alarm installation service, 530 thousand rubles may be enough. and a staff of 4 people. Such a service will be able to bring in more than 100 thousand rubles per month. net profit. You can read more about opening an alarm installation service in this material.
You can organize a car wash in almost any garage, but it is desirable that it be in a visible and convenient place. It is not difficult to buy equipment and materials, it is sometimes much more difficult to organize a convenient supply of water supply and sewerage, as well as to provide a drainage system.
You can learn how to make kites from online video tutorials, and the materials don’t cost much to purchase. To work, you will need wooden slats or metal tubes for making a frame, fabric or paper for the “body” of the snake, winder, fishing line, mount. When perfecting your art, you can create a whole line of kites from inexpensive to premium options.